Four wrestlers will advance to the Individual State Tournament

Follow us on Twitter at @AdTribNews


Kirby Winson will be headed to the State Individual wrestling tournament for the second year in a row, but this time he won’t be going solo.
Colten Specht, Dylan Johnson and Hayden Johnson all qualified for the State tournament after qualifying at the Individual Sections tournament at Luverne on Saturday.
“Overall I was very pleased on how the tournament went,” said Quad County Coach David Wingert. ‘I saw some of the best wrestling that I have seen all year out of them.”
At 120 pounds is Colten Specht, who earned a first-round bye, and pinned Will Natte in the semifinals in only two minutes and 49 seconds. Specht then lost to Jordan Bothun of United in the finals.
“I want to win my first match,” said Specht of his goals at State. “I just need to lock it in and get comfortable.”
Kirby Winston is the only Quad County wrestler with State experience, who views the tournament differently from last year when he went 0-2 at 138 pounds.
“I’m going to be more aggressive, be smarter and quicker,” Winson said, adding that it is his personal goal to get his first win at State.
Dylan Johnson was the Sections champion in the 145 pound category after a 5-0 decision over Jagger Hoffman of New Ulm and a two minute and 59 second pin against Morris Area’s Myles Smith in the finals.
At 182 pounds, Hayden Johnson was a runner up to Spencer Okltjenbruns of Luverne.
“I still went out and gave it my all,” Hayden said.
Sophomore Hayden’s first match will feature the only two underclassmen, as he faces freshman Alex Goergen of Caledonia.
The other Quad County wrestlers placing at the Section 3AA Tournament were Ethan Thein (126, 6th), Austin Friese (132, 6th) Cole Hatch (152, 4th), Wyatt Hatch (160, 4th) and Zach Fischer (220, 3rd). Placing results are as follows:
1. Jordan Bothun, United 2. Colten Specht, Quad County 3. Will Natte, Luverne 4. Chris Ettesvold, F/MCW 5. Nick Erbes, Marshall 6. Jon Gehl, F/MCC
1. Anthony Luft, Worthington 2. Bailey Eickhoff, United 3. Cody Hess, Luverne 4. Caleb Christian, TMB/WWG 5. Eric Bommersbach, RV 6. Ethan Thein, Quad County
1. Logan Axford, TMB/WWG 2. Travis Ostby, MAHACA 3. Spencer Sulflow, United 4. Matt Facile, Marshall 5. Adam Fosness, Luverne 6. Austin Friese, Quad County
1. Logan Knoshal, United 2. Kirby Winson, Quad County 3. Austin Brandes, New Ulm 4. Jordan Mann, RV 5. Nathan Beech, F/MCC 6. Brent Breczinski, Marshall
1. Dylan Johnson, Quad County 2. Myles Smith, MAHACA 3. Solomon Nielsen, Luverne 4. Ramzi Gregoire, Marshall 5. Elijah Gronewold, F/MCW 6. Jagger Hoffmann, New Ulm
1. Keith Abraham, United 2. Joe Weber, F/MCW 3. Vince Riley, Worthington 4. Cole Hatch, Quad County 5. Matt Hartley, New Ulm 6. Sterling Schwartz, TMB/WWG
1. Zach Kempema, Worthington 2. Mason Kwilinski, United 3. Tanner Lange, F/MCW 4. Wyatt Hatch, Quad County 5. Chase Rahe, RV 6. Riley Shelgren, New Ulm
1. Spencer Oeltjenbruns, Luverne 2. Hayden Johnson, Quad County 3. Anthony Quigley, United 4. Cole Wilfahrt, New Ulm 5. Aaron Nelson, MAHACA 6. Cody Anderson, RV
1. Luis Figueroa, F/MCW 2. David Nelson, United 3. Zach Fischer, Quad County 4. Peter Abraham, Worthington 5. Braxton Greenwaldt, New Ulm 6. Kenny Her, TMB/WWG