Granite Falls Advocate Tribune
  • Tennis team swept by LqPV/D-B

    • email print
  • LqPV/DB 7, YME 0
    Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd took to the courts for a team sweep against the Sting tennis team.
    All matches were finished in straight sets for the expection of the No. 4 singles match of Hunter Olson and Ammon Bennett, in which Bennett won the first set 6-4 only to fall 3-6 2-6. The No. 3 doubles match was won by forfeit.
    (1) Jesse Hansen, L, def. Brandon Repsher 6-0 6-0 (2) Eli Weber, L, def. Cody Speh 6-1 6-2 (3) Trevor Sigdahl, L, def. Matthew Virnig 6-2 6-3 (4) Hunter Olson, L, def. Ammon Bennett 4-6 6-3 6-2
    (1) Keith Abraham/Kain Matthies, L, def. James DeJager/Cody Zimmer 6-3 6-1 (2) Cody McKesson/Dalton Kostad, L, def. Isaiah Werner/Nick Shindele 6-0 6-0 (3) Ryan Borstad/Conrad Matthies, L, won by forfeit
    WCC Championships
    Benson boasted three championship matches at the WCC championship invitational on Saturday in Montevideo.
    The Sting’s Matt Virnig settled for second place after Benson’s Eric Hoium won 6-1, 6-0. James DeJager and Ammon Bennett were fourth place at No. 1 doubles after losing to Matthies and Abraham of LqPV/D-B.
    Montevideo was the only other West Central Conference team with multiple champions, with Jared Saue at 2nd singles and the doubles pairing of Neville/Dann.
    1st Singles
    Championship: Jess Hanson, Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd, def Alberto Sainz, Benson, 7-6 (6-4), 2-6, 10-5 3rd-place: Jake Pederson, Minnewaska, def. Jesse Erickson, Montevideo, 6-0, 6-3
    2nd Singles
    Championship: Jared Saue, Montevideo, def, Aaron Szczur, Benson, 6-0, 6-4 3rd-place: Eli Weber, LQPVDB, def. Carter Lamount, Waska, 6-4, 7-6 (7-2)
    3rd Singles
    Championship: Tyler Bergman, Benson, def Taylor Landmark, Montevideo, 6-2, 6-4 3rd-place: Trevor Sigdahl, LQPVDB, 6-2, 6-1
    4th Singles
    Championship: Eric Hoium, Benson, def. Matthew Virnig, YME, 6-1, 6-0 3rd-place: Hunter Olson, LQPVDB, def Mitch Zwilinski, Montevideo, 6-1, 6-2
    1st Doubles
    Championship: Berens/Clark, Benson, def. Moore/Voorhees, Montevideo, 6-0, 6-3 3rd-place: K. Matthies/Abraham, LQPVDB, def. DeJager/Bennett, YME, 6-2, 0-6 (10-5)
    2nd Doubles
    Neville/Dann, Montevideo, def McKesson/Kostad, LqPVDB, 6-4, 7-5 3rd-place: Mercier/Stumpf, Minnewaska, def Ruppert/McNeill, Benson, 6-3, 6-2
    3rd Doubles
    Championship: Borstad/C. Matthies, LQPVDB, def Heid/Evans, Minnewaska, 1-6, 6-2 (14-12) 3rd-place: Habben/Johnson, Benson, def Johnson/Albers, Montevideo, 6-1, 4-6 (11-9)
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar