On Tuesday, November 6th, midterm elections took place across the country. In Minnesota Democrats saw big gains, holding the governorship, both senate positions, and retaking the state house. Tim Walz beat out Jeff Johnson by a large 54%-43.2% margin. However, in Yellow Medicine County Johnson won receiving 59% of the vote, Walz only received 38.1% of the vote. In Chippewa county Johnson also won with 54.6% of the vote, Walz only received 41.1%. Senator Amy Klobuchar won re-election with 60.4% of the vote statewide easily defeating Jim Newberger. Klobuchar won Yellow Medicine County with 49% of the vote, Newberger received 48%. In Chippewa County Klobuchar also won with 52.9% of the vote, while Newberger received 43.8%. Senator Tina Smith won her special election to finish out former Senator Al Franken’s term. Smith beat Karin Housley with 53.1% of the vote, Housley received 42.3%. However, In Yellow Medicine County Housley won with 57.7% of the vote while Smith only received 38%. In Chippewa County Housley also won with 52.7% with Smith getting 41.6%. In the local state house race for district 16A Republican Chris Swedzinski won re-election against DFL Candidate Wyatt-Yerka 68% to 32%.